Our Board

As at 1 April 2020, Tai Poutini Polytechnic became a limited liability company (Tai Poutini Polytechnic Limited) and wholly-owned subsidiary of Te Pūkenga - the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology.


2021 Board Meetings

February meeting – 17 February 2021, 11.00 am – a copy of the agenda is available here. 
March meeting – 17 March 2021, 11.00 am – a copy of the agenda is available here.
April meeting – 5 May 2021, 11.00 am – a copy of the agenda is available here.
June meeting – 16 June 2021, 11.00 am – a copy of the agenda is available here
July meeting – 28 July 2021, 11.00 am – a copy of the agenda is available here.
September meeting – 8 September 2021, 11.00 am - a copy of the agenda is available here.
October meeting – 20 October 2021, 11.00 am
November meeting – 17 November 2021, 11.00 am
December meeting – 15 December 2021, 11.00 am


2020 Board Meetings

Inaugural meeting - Friday 3 April 2020 - a copy of the agenda is available here
April meeting - Wednesday 29 April 2020 – a copy of the agenda is available here
May meeting - Wednesday 20 May 2020 - a copy of the agenda is available here.
June meeting - Wednesday 17 June 2020 – a copy of the agenda is available here
July meeting - Tuesday 28 July 2020 – a copy of the agenda is available here
August meeting - Wednesday 19 August 2020 – a copy of the agenda is available here
September meeting - Wednesday 16 September 2020, 11.00am – a copy of the agenda is available here.
October meeting - Wednesday 21 October 2020, 2.00pm – a copy of the agenda is available here
November meeting - Wednesday 18 November 2020, 11.00am - a copy of the agenda is available here
December meeting - Wednesday 16 December 2020, 11.00am - a copy of the agenda is available here


Letter of Expectation

A copy of the letter of expectation is available here.


TPP Directors

Rebecca Keoghan (Chair)

Rebecca Keoghan

Rebecca - MNZM, MInstD - is a professional director based in Westport. She has considerable governance and executive experience across a variety of industries: manufacturing, energy, ports, medical, agriculture, FMCG, forestry, health & safety, and fire and emergency.

Rebecca’s current governance portfolio includes:  Chair - Fire & Emergency New Zealand; Deputy Chair – Timaru District Holdings; Director - Gravity Dance Studio; and Director - Keoghan Farm.

In 2016, Rebecca was awarded Dairy Woman of the Year, in 2017 she received a New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to business, and in 2018 she was awarded the Rural Westpac Woman of Influence Award.

Rebecca holds a degree in Medical Science from Otago University, Diplomas in Advanced Business Management and leadership and a Certificate in Company Direction.


Rob Caldwell (Deputy Chair)

Rob Caldwell

Rob was Chief Executive of community-owned Electricity Distribution Business Westpower Ltd and the ElectroNet Group of Companies from December 2001 to March 2020. Rob led the group through a growth period which now sees it employing over 300 people with bases in Greymouth, Nelson, Christchurch, Wellington, New Plymouth, and Auckland.

Rob has previously been a Director of one of Westpower’s subsidiary companies for 12 years and has also held external Governance roles including six years as a councillor with Tai Poutini Polytechnic and eight years as Trustee of the West Coast Community Trust.

Rob is a proud West Coaster who is now semi retired and taking the opportunity contribute to the community through involvement in organisations such as Tai Poutini Polytechnic Limited.


Renee Rooney

Renee Rooney

Renee is a dairy farm business owner who has previously worked in the education and corporate sectors. She is currently Chairperson of Development West Coast and has been Trustee Elect for Grey District since 2016.

She is currently an executive member of Federated Farmers West Coast; a committee member of TBFree West Coast; and a committee member of Lake Brunner Community Catchment Care Group.

Renee’s previous governance experience includes: Chair and Trustee of Lake Brunner School Board; Federated Farmers National Dairy Industry Executive; Westland Milk Products Shareholder Sub-Committee.


Murray Strong

Murray Strong

Murray is an independent director and Chair, and a member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand.

Mr Strong has governance and senior management experience across many sectors including tertiary education, aviation, sport and infrastructure.

He was the NZ Institute of Skills and Technology (NZIST) Establishment Unit Executive Director, where he was closely involved with all workstreams, key stakeholders and the future direction. He now chairs the NZIST Council and sits on the Board of the Open Polytechnic of NZ Limited.

He is chair of the Centre of Digital Excellence in Dunedin, chairs the Christchurch Stadium Board, and is also a director on the National Infrastructure Service.


Sam Huggard

Sam Huggard

Sam is the former National Secretary of the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions from 2014-2019, where he lead the Union movement’s work on just transitions. He is now a Strategic Researcher with E tū, which represents more than 50,000 workers. Mr Huggard is an experienced not-for-profit sector leader, with 20 years’ service across trade unions, the community sector and students’ associations. His governance experience includes Government, not-for-profit, academic and industry advisory bodies.


Kara Edwards

Kara Edwards

Kara (Ngāi Tahu) was born and raised on the West Coast and currently resides in Gladstone. Her background is in cultural heritage and the natural environment and she has held senior management roles with the Department of Conservation and Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu. She is currently Chief Executive of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio and has a strong history of iwi and community governance roles. 

Kara is passionate about the West Coast and its people and is driven to ensure opportunities for future generations to thrive here on the Coast. She is very excited to take up this role and to contribute to the community in this way.