TPP celebrates successful year

Students and staff of Tai Poutini Polytechnic celebrated another successful year at the 2015 West Coast Graduation Ceremony this evening (Friday, 11 December 2015). More than 150 students graduated across a range of Polytechnic programmes, including Business, Computing, Hair and Beauty, Early Childhood Education, Hospitality and Tourism, Outdoor Education, and Trades including Agriculture, Automotive, Engineering, Carpentry and Jade and Hard Stone Carving.

A full list of graduates will be printed in the Polytechnic Graduation Feature in the Grey Star on Saturday 19 December.

General Manager West Coast Operations Rob van Lent says the Polytechnic congratulates this year’s graduates and wishes them every success in their future careers or ongoing study. “Our graduation ceremony is the culmination of a year of hard work and study for our students. It is a great opportunity to celebrate their achievements and recognise individual efforts as well as some of our top performers,” he says. Every year, the Polytechnic issues awards and scholarships to outstanding students.

This year’s programme award winners were: Automotive Engineering Cable Price Diesel Award: Liam Hopper Dispatch & Garlick Precision and Accuracy Award: Daniel Van Hulst Greymouth Equipment Centre Course Leader Award: Christine Biggart-Burrows John Gibb Workshop Award: Cody Thomas Repco Academic Achievement Award: Cameron Radics Tasman Tyre Treads Award: Daniel Van Hulst Westland Engineering Supplies Attendance Award: Liam Hopper Cookery Catering Hardware Award for Highest Theoretical Achievement: Pei Li Wong Gregory Eastwood Memorial Award for Practical Excellence: Jacob McFarlane Catering Hardware Award for Most Improved Student: Glen Crisp Hair, Beauty and Grooming Overall Excellence: Talisha Hemara Jade and Hard Stone Carving Mountain Jade Carving Excellence Award: Nicholas Balme Outdoor Education Cave Creek Student Memorial Excellence Awards: Nicholas Hardie, Zhane O’Neill-Harvey Pre Health and Science Award for Academic Excellence – Semester One: Hema Chandra Award for Academic Excellence – Semester Two: Anne Andrew Award for Showing Most Commitment to the Programme – Semester One: Hema Chandra Award for Showing Most Commitment to the Programme – Semester Two: Cheyne Merson-Smith

TPP99 Graduation 2015 image 28640x42729 2